Improve Your Chances for Illinois Drivers License Reinstatement
To get your Illinois driver’s license reinstated after it has been revoked for DUI , you will have to prove that allowing you to drive again will not pose a risk to public safety. A Secretary of State hearing officer will make this determination based on several key pieces of evidence that you must present at a formal hearing, which is very similar to a trial. Your documentation must include proof of completion of your DUI sentence, an updated drug/alcohol evaluation, and letters or testimony confirming your rehabilitation.
It is highly recommended that you consult an experienced Will County driver’s license reinstatement lawyer to help you prepare this documentation. Your attorney can also coach you on how to answer questions typically asked at these hearings, make recommendations regarding the use of witnesses, and represent you during your hearing.
Documentation Required for Formal Reinstatement Hearing
You will need to present the following documentation at a formal hearing for driver’s license reinstatement:
1. Proof that you completed the education or treatment programs required by the court as part of your DUI sentence. These programs generally provide you with a paper certificate of completion.
2. A Drug/Alcohol Evaluation Uniform Report that is less than six months old. Because this report is so crucial to your license reinstatement, consult your attorney in advance for advice on how to answer questions about your driving record, your personal attitudes about drug/alcohol use, your past and current patterns of drug and alcohol use, how past patterns have affected your work and relationships, and what you have done to correct problematic drug/alcohol usage. If the evaluator believes you are not being open and truthful, you could get a bad evaluation which could lead to denial of your reinstatement.
3. If a drug/alcohol evaluation classified you as drug/alcohol dependent, you will need to submit letters written by people who can verify your complete abstinence from drugs and alcohol for at least the past 12 months and your active involvement in a substance-abuse support/recovery program.
4. If you were classified as high risk but non-dependent, you will need letters from people who can verify your abstinence or non-problematic use of drugs/alcohol for the past 12 months.
By following this advice, you can significantly improve your chances of winning reinstatement on your first attempt. If your license reinstatement is denied, you will have to wait 90 days to have another hearing.
A Will County Driver’s License Reinstatement Hearing Attorney
If you live in Will County, your formal reinstatement hearing will be held in Joliet. Before you schedule your updated drug/alcohol evaluation and your formal reinstatement hearing, obtain advice from an experienced Joliet driver’s license reinstatement lawyer . Call the Law Offices of Jack L. Zaremba at 815-740-4025.