Illinois Gun Lawyers
Protecting Your 2nd Amendment Rights
As a former prosecutor for the State of Illinois, I have the experience you need when battling the State to keep your 2nd Amendment Rights. If Illinois has taken your gun rights away, I will be there to help. As a current Firearm Owners Identification Card (FOID) holder and Conceal Carry Permit holder (CCL), I understand the importance of the 2nd Amendment right to keep and bear arms and I will fight for you to keep your 2nd Amendment rights as if they were my own.
Criminal Charges Impact Your FOID and CCL
There can be instances where you find yourself with a criminal charge that can impact your right to keep and bear arms. Any offense, even if it seems minor, can have a devastating impact on your 2nd Amendment Gun Rights. If you have been charged with a criminal offense or any weapons charge , you need to seek counsel right away. Even if you have not been charged, but are under investigation, or you become aware that the police wish to speak to you regarding a gun related or FOID card issue, you should reach out to our office PRIOR to speaking to the police. The legalities in Illinois are complex and difficult and handling these issues on your own can have devastating consequences.
My firm can help you at every stage of the process. Regardless of whether you have reached our firm due to current criminal FOID or gun charges or whether you need help in restoring your 2nd Amendment Rights , give us a call.
FOID Card Revocations
You may have recently found yourself in a situation where your FOID card was revoked or where your application for a FOID card was denied. The FOID Act gives you a right to appeal the State Police’s denial or revocation of your FOID card. The appeal process can be difficult and confusing, you need an experienced attorney on your side. Don’t delay in contacting this firm to start the process of your appeal. I will fight to get your 2nd Amendment rights back in the State of Illinois.
Conceal and Carry Permit
The Conceal Carry Law in Illinois became effect January of 2014. Even with the new law allowing conceal carry, restrictions still apply as to where you can legally conceal carry and where you cannot. Law abiding citizens of Illinois can get tripped up with the differing rules throughout Illinois and find themselves on the wrong side of the law. Even the most innocent mistake by a gun owner can lead to the loss of the Conceal & Carry license. These mistakes can also lead to an arrest and possible incarceration. As a Conceal Carry Lawyer, I know the law and the variances throughout the State of Illinois, and can help you navigate the process.
Penalties for Conceal and Carry Violations in Illinois
It is a class A misdemeanor to possess a weapon without an FOID card, if you are eligible to obtain a card. Penalties can include a fine of up to $2,500, up to one year in jail, or both. Any second or subsequent violation is considered a class 4 felony, which is punishable by a fine of up to $25,000, at least one year (up to three years) in prison, or both.
(430 Ill. Comp. Stat. § 65/14(b).)
If you are not eligible to obtain an FOID card, it is a class 3 felony to possess a weapon. If convicted, you may be facing a fine of up to $25,000, at least two (and up to five) years in prison, or both. Third or subsequent violations of this type are considered a class 1 felony, which is punishable by a fine of up to $25,000, six to 30 years in prison, or both.
(430 Ill. Comp. Stat. § 65/14(c).)
How to Obtain an Illinois Concealed Carry License
In order to conceal carry a firearm in the State of Illinois, you must obtain an Illinois Concealed Carry License. Applicants must meet the following:
• At least 21 years of age or older;
• Have a valid Firearm Owner’s Identification Card;
• In the last five years not been convicted of either assault or battery;
• Within the past five years have not had two or more traffic incidents related to drugs or alcohol;
• Not subject to arrest warrant or a court hearing for anything that could potentially disqualify you;
• Have not been court ordered to seek substance abuse counseling in the last five years; and
• No objections are filed by law enforcement officials.
If the eligibility requirements are met, the applicant may proceed with the following steps to be approved for your license:
• Register for an Illinois State Police website user ID and password;
• Complete 16 hours of firearm safety training from an Illinois State Police approved instructor (proven by uploading the training certificate);
• Upload a photograph of yourself that has been taken within the last 30 days (passport style just head and shoulders from the front);
• Send in a copy of a valid State Driver’s License or State Identification Card;
• Be able to provide proof of residency for the previous 10 years;
• Get official fingerprints taken; and
• Send in the application fee of $150.00.
Once the Illinois State Police receives the above documents and all eligibility requirements are met, a Conceal Carry Permit will be issued to you within 90 days. It is important to remember that even though you might have a valid FOID card, you are unable to conceal carry until you have your physical Illinois Concealed Carry Card in hand. If you chose to carry without obtaining the Illinois Concealed Carry Permit card or even if just fail to have your issued card on your person while carrying a firearm, you risk firearm possession charges.
Experienced Weapons and Firearms Defense
Contact our office if you have any questions regarding your 2nd Amendment Rights. We are your 2nd Amendment Rights attorney in Illinois. Give us a call at (815) 740-4025 for a free consultation. Calls are answered 24 hours a day. If you prefer, send us an Email