Aggravated Discharge of a Firearm Lawyer – Joliet, IL
Will County & Grundy County Aggravated Discharge of a Firearm Attorney
Aggravated Discharge of a Firearm is a serious criminal offense in Illinois. It involves the intentional and reckless discharge of a firearm in the direction of another person or a vehicle. Under Illinois law, this offense is covered under Section 720 ILCS 5/24-1.2.
When Does Aggravated Discharge of a Firearm Occur?
Aggravated discharge occurs when the firearm is discharged in a way that puts the safety of others in jeopardy. Aggravated discharge laws apply to pistols, rifles and other guns. However, BB guns, pellet guns, and bows may be included as well. The laws also apply to how the weapon is being used.
Illinois statute 720 ILCS 5/24-1.2 defines aggravated discharge as firing a gun in the following ways:
- In the direction of a person – regardless of your intent, it is illegal to shoot a gun at another person. When there is evidence that you had the intent to harm the other person, you may face other criminal charges as well.
- In the direction of a building – in this case, the prosecutor will need to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you knew, or should have known, that the building was occupied.
- In the direction of a vehicle – the prosecutor will need to demonstrate beyond any reasonable doubt that you knew, or should have known, that the vehicle was occupied.
Aggravated Discharge of a Firearm Penalties
Aggravated discharge of a firearm is a Class 1 felony, which may result in as long as 15 years in prison. You could also be sentenced to paying a fine of up to $25,000. When there is evidence you fired the gun within 1,000 feet of a school, park, bus or school activity, you could be charged with a Class X felony.
You could also face a Class X felony if you are convicted of discharging the gun in the direction of (or a vehicle occupied by) any of the following classes are people while they are in the lawful exercise of their duties:
- Community volunteer with the police
- Emergency management worker
- Employee of a correctional facility
- Law enforcement officer
- Teachers or school employees present on school grounds
A Class X felony is punishable by six to 30 years in state prison. Fines could exceed $50,000. Probation may last one to three years.
Arrests for aggravated discharge of a firearm do not guarantee a conviction.
Contact A Joliet Aggravated Discharge of a Firearm Lawyer
Attorney Jack Zaremba has over 20 years of legal experience, and has handled thousands of criminal law cases. If you have been charged or accused of aggravated discharge of a firearm, let attorney Zaremba use his experience and knowledge to help you. As a former Will County prosecutor, he has the experience you can count on.