Applying for and Obtaining an Illinois Concealed Carry Permit
In 2013, the Illinois legislature voted to override then Gov. Quinn’s amendatory veto and approved the state’s first Concealed Carry Act. The Illinois Firearm Concealed Carry Act allows duly licensed and thoroughly vetted individuals to carry concealed handguns (both loaded or unloaded).
The concealed carry policy includes a stringent list of criteria and thorough application process to ensure concealed carry permits are issued to responsible and law-abiding gun owners.
Am I Eligible to Apply for a Concealed Carry Permit?
Illinois residents must meet a list of established criteria even before initiating the application process. Eligibility rules for residents of Illinois are:
• Must be at least 21 years old
• Have a valid Illinois Firearm Owner’s Identification Card (FOID)
• Not convicted or found guilty within the past 5 years of a misdemeanor involving the threat of physical force or violence against another person.
• Fewer than two violations within the past 5 years involving driving while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or intoxicants.
• No residential or court-ordered treatment for alcohol, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the past 5 years.
• Not subject to pending arrest or prosecution for an offense or violation of the preceding criteria that would lead to disqualification of owning or possessing a firearm.
However, even if you meet all the provisions listed above, law enforcement officials may still file an objection against your application. A knowledgeable Will County guns and weapons attorney would be helpful when attempting to overcome that objection.
The Application Process
An individual who meets the eligibility requirements for a concealed carry permit may then begin the application process. When applying, the applicant must provide the following:
• 16 hours of Concealed Carry firearms training provided by an ISP approved Instructor.
• Electronic Copy of training certificate(s) uploaded during the application process.
• An Illinois State Police User ID and password.
• A Valid Driver’s License or State Identification card.
• A valid FOID card unless in the process of getting a valid FOID card.
• A head and shoulder electronic photograph was taken within the last 30 days.
• Proof of previous last ten years of residency.
• A set of fingerprints.
• $150.00 payable with a credit card or electronic check.
Rely on a Will County Guns and Weapons Defense Lawyer for the Help You Need
Purchase and ownership of a firearm is an important right that one must take care to protect by following set procedures and laws. Count on a knowledgeable Illinois Guns and Weapons attorney to help explain the state’s concealed carry application process, or guide you through an appeal. The Law Office of Jack L. Zaremba provides in-depth information to ensure you understand your gun rights. Call 815-740-4025 to schedule a consultation.