Construction Zone Speeding Tickets and Photo Enforcement in Illinois
When the orange cones come out, try to keep your driving frustration and speed in check, or you could find yourself in court dealing with a costly construction zone speeding ticket . The minimum fine for speeding in a construction zone is $375 for a first offense and $1,000 for a second offense, regardless of whether workers are present. A court appearance is mandatory. Two offenses within two years will result in a 90-day suspension of your driver’s license. Photo enforcement of speeding in work zones is legal in Illinois, but only when construction workers are present.
Illinois Photo Enforcement of Construction Zone Speed Limits
Illinois law (625 ILCS 7) defines the state’s policies for automated photo enforcement of construction zone speed limits. Key facts to know include:
• Automated photo enforcement is allowed only when workers are actually present in a construction zone.
• The speed limit sign for the construction zone must have attached signs stating, “work zone,” “photo enforced, and “$375 fine minimum.”
• There is no unmanned photo enforcement of speed in construction zones. Photo speed enforcement vans are staffed by Illinois State Police (ISP) troopers. These vans are generally white and have orange signs on the back saying “Work Zone Photo Enforcement.”
Before you reach the photo enforcement van , a radar-triggered warning sign will show you your speed in flashing orange neon, giving you an opportunity to slow down and avoid a ticket. If you are still speeding when you pass the enforcement van, your speed and photo will be captured. Four photos are actually captured, two of the front of the car and two of the back. The photos taken must clearly show your car, its license plate, and the driver. It must also show the date, time, and location that the photo was taken and the recorded speed.
The photos are uploaded to the ISP where they are manually reviewed to determine if a ticket should be issued. Tickets are mailed to the vehicle’s registered owner by certified mail within 14 days. If the registered owner was not the driver, the owner can contest under that ground.
For you to be convicted of the offense of speeding in a highway work zone, two facts must be true:
1. The state has to prove that at least one worker was present; and
2. You must be personally identifiable as the driver in the photograph. The photo must also clearly show your vehicle’s license plate.
Joliet Speeding Ticket Defense Lawyer
If you have gotten a construction zone speeding ticket, especially if you have multiple tickets and are at risk for suspension of your driver’s license, consult an experienced Will County speeding ticket attorney to explore your legal defense options. For a free initial consultation, call the Law Offices of Jack L. Zaremba in Joliet at 815-740-4025.