Getting Your Driver’s License Reinstated in Illinois | Joliet License Reinstatement Lawyer | Law Office of Jack L Zaremba

Getting Your Driver’s License Reinstated in Illinois

joliet reinstatement attorney

Your driver’s license can get revoked or suspended for a number of reasons--traffic violations, failing to pay child support, DUI charges--but you can reinstate your driver’s license with the help of an experienced attorney. There are specific steps that you must take in order to begin the reinstatement process.

Participate in a Hearing

In order to have your driver’s license reinstated, you must participate in either a formal or informal hearing with a Secretary of State hearing officer.

Informal Hearing

You can request an informal hearing if your license was suspended for:

• An offense that did not involve a death

• One DUI offense

• Minor moving violations

The hearing could result in either a restricted driving permit or a full reinstatement of your driver’s license. A restricted driving permit allows you to drive during certain times of the day and in certain areas. This type of permit is often awarded to allow people to drive to and from work, school, daycare, or medical appointments.

Formal Hearings

You are required to have a formal hearing if your driver’s license was suspended for:

• Any offense involving a death

• Multiple DUI offenses

To request a formal hearing, you must submit the request by mail. You must complete the document for a formal hearing request, indicate the Office of the Secretary of State where you want to have your hearing, and provide the payment for the filing fee, which is $50. The Office of the Secretary of State will then mail you a notice of hearing with the date you must appear at the office. Your hearing may result in a full reinstatement, denial of reinstatement, or granting of a restricted driving permit.

After Your Hearing

If the hearing results in your license becoming fully reinstated, you must then mail the Secretary of State proof of insurance and a fee payment. The amount you must pay depends on the offense that your license was suspended for. For example, if your license was suspended due to a DUI related offense, the fee for reinstatement is $500.

Seek Help From a Joliet Driver’s License Reinstatement Attorney

Convincing the Secretary of State to give you back your license, is a much more complicated process than actually setting and appearing for a hearing. If you are seeking to reinstate your driver’s license, you need the help of an experienced Will County driver’s license reinstatement lawyer . Contact the Law Offices of Jack L. Zaremba, P.C. to see how you can benefit from the aid of someone who is knowledgeable about the reinstatement process. Call 815-740-4025 to schedule a consultation.