Understanding the Basics of the Sex Offender Registration Requirements in Illinois
Sexual offenses and sexual assault charges can have lasting and significant implications for those who are convicted. Not only do you stand to face jail time, fines, and a criminal record, it is also likely that you will have to register as a sex offender. Akin to wearing a scarlet letter, the ramifications of registering can follow you around for a lifetime. Learn what it means to register as a sex offender, and how you can best protect your reputation and future, with help from the following information.
Who Registers as a Sex Offender?
Anyone that has been convicted of “sex offense” must register as a sex offender . This can include crimes such as child pornography, criminal sexual assault, aggravated sexual assault, and even sexual grooming of a minor child. However, not all criminal acts outlined in the Sex Offender Registration Act require you to engage in a sexual act. For example, you may also be required to register as a sex offender if you have received three convictions of public indecency, were found guilty of traveling to meet a minor with the intent to engage in a sexual act, or were found guilty of juvenile prostitution.
How Long Will You Be Required to Register?
The duration of your sexual offender registration will depend on the charge you are facing. If you are convicted of a crime that is considered predatory in nature (child pornography, criminal sexual assault, aggravated criminal sexual abuse, etc.), you will be required to register for the rest of your natural life. Conviction of a sexual offense (any crime that is not considered predatory in nature) will require that you register for the next 10 years.
Duty to Register (When, Where, and How)
When required to register as a sex offender in Illinois, you must report to your local police department within the first three days of your conviction. If you move to another town or city, you must register in that new location within three days. If you leave your place of residence for three days or longer (in state), you will be required to register at the location you are staying. Furthermore, if you leave the state, you will be required to follow that state’s registration requirements. Failure to adhere to the registration requirements can lead to further consequences and is considered a Class 3 felony.
Collateral Consequences of Registration
Sex offender registration puts your information on a state registry, which is searchable by anyone. This includes members of your community, neighbors, friends, and any prospective employers. Essentially, it is like walking around with a sign on your back, everywhere that you go. Further, you will be restricted from coming within 500 feet of certain locations, including daycares, schools, parks, and playgrounds. You may also experience difficulty in finding a place to live and/or employment, due to your criminal record and registration requirements.
Protect Yourself from the Consequences of a Sexual Offense
Being listed as a sex offender can permanently scar your reputation, damage relationships, and completely upend your life, regardless of how long you are required to register. Avoid conviction and its consequences with help from a seasoned Joliet criminal defense attorney. Dedicated and experienced, Attorney Jack L. Zaremba will aggressively work toward the most positive outcome possible for your situation. Get the representation you need and deserve by scheduling a free confidential consultation with us today.