What You Should Know About Underage Drinking This Holiday Season
For many, this holiday season is filled with family gatherings, workplace parties, and casual get-togethers with friends. Many of these events will include the consumption of alcohol for those aged 21 or above. In Illinois, it is illegal for anyone under 21 to drink alcohol. Drinking under 21 is a Class A misdemeanor and is punishable by a $1,000 fine and one year in jail. All 50 states prohibit the sale of alcohol to those under the legal drinking age, but it is also illegal to simply give those under age 21 alcohol, even if no money is involved. In fact, a person of drinking age does not have to physically hand alcohol to an underage person to be committing a crime. Passively allowing underage people access to one’s alcohol can also be punishable.
For those in Illinois, knowingly providing alcohol to underage persons can result in a $500 minimum fine with a maximum $2,500 fine and up to one year in jail. If the underage drinker is seriously injured or dies as a result of drinking, the responsible party can be subject to a Class 4 felony. The punishment for this can include fines up to $25,000 and up to three years in prison.
Seek Legal Guidance
If you or someone in your family is facing charges relating to underage drinking, you need an experienced Will County defense attorney . The dedicated attorneys at the Law Offices of Jack L. Zaremba, P.C. have the experience and resources necessary to build the best defense possible for your case. Contact our offices today at 815-740-4025.