Unlawful Possession of a Firearm Attorney – Joliet, IL
Will County & Grundy County Unlawful Possession of a Firearm Lawyer
In Illinois, the unlawful possession of a firearm is governed by the Illinois Compiled Statutes, specifically the Firearm Owners Identification (FOID) Card Act and the Criminal Code. Under these laws, certain individuals are prohibited from possessing firearms in the state.
Convicted Felons – individuals who have been convicted of a felony offense under Illinois or federal law.
Individuals with Domestic Violence Convictions – persons convicted of a misdemeanor domestic violence offense or subject to an order of protection.
Persons Under 18 Years of Age – generally, individuals under the age of 18 are prohibited from possessing firearms, except under specific circumstances such as hunting or target shooting with parental or guardian consent.
Persons with Mental Health Issues -individuals who have been adjudicated as mentally disabled, admitted to a mental health facility, or deemed unfit to stand trial.
Persons Addicted to Drugs or Alcohol – individuals who are addicted to narcotics or are habitual users of controlled substances.
Persons with Restraining Orders – individuals subject to an order of protection that prohibits firearm possession.
Nonresidents – individuals who are not residents of Illinois and do not possess a valid FOID card or concealed carry license.
If a person is found to be in unlawful possession of a firearm in Illinois, they may face criminal charges. The severity of the offense and potential penalties can vary depending on the circumstances and prior criminal history.
Unlawful Possession of a Firearm Penalties
Unlawful possession of a firearm may be classified as a Class A misdemeanor or a Class 4 felony, depending on the facts of your case. You may also be charged with more than one instance of the crime for each firearm or piece of ammunition you possess. Thus, if you have 10 bullets in your possession, you may be charged with 10 crimes. Penalties for these crimes include:
- Class A Misdemeanor – up to one year in jail, up to two years of probation, and a fine of up to $2,500
- Class 4 Felony – one to three years in prison, up to 30 months of probation, and significant fines
Contact A Joliet Unlawful Possession of a Firearm Lawyer For Help
Attorney Jack Zaremba has over 20 years of legal experience, and has handled thousands of criminal law cases. If you have been charged or accused of unlawful possession of a firearm, let attorney Zaremba use his experience and knowledge to help you. As a former Will County prosecutor, he has the experience you can count on.