Jack's blog

Serious Penalties Can Result from a Fake ID

joliet fake id attorney lawyer

In today’s digital age, it is easier than ever for a person to get their hands on a fake ID. What once took yourself or a friend “knowing a guy” can now be accomplished by a simple Google search. There are thousands of websites out there run by people claiming that they can make identification cards that are “scannable” and “will not get you caught easily.” Though it may seem easy to just purchase a fake ID off the internet, even just possessing a fake ID in Illinois can get you into a lot of trouble. In some instances, you can even find yourself facing felony charges and extensive fines for charges related to fake IDs .

Penalties for Fake IDs

In the state of Illinois, it is illegal for anyone to assist in obtaining, fraudulently obtain, possess, use, or distribute a fake identification card. Aside from any criminal charges you may face, the state of Illinois can also revoke your driving privileges for a minimum of one year or suspend your driving privileges for a maximum of one year if you violate any of the laws pertaining to fake IDs.

Illinois law states that you can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor for any of the following offenses:

• Allowing a friend to borrow a license or state ID for them to use;

• Using someone else’s ID card or driver’s license and displaying it as your own;

• Possessing a fictitious driver’s license or ID card that contains false information, but was produced by the Illinois Secretary of State or other government office;

• Possessing, transferring or providing any type of identification document to obtain a fake ID card or driver’s license; and

• Altering or attempting to alter a driver’s license or state ID card.

As Class A misdemeanors, these crimes carry a maximum sentence of one year in jail and up to $2,500 in fines. Any subsequent offense for these crimes will be classified as a Class 4 felony.

Illinois law also states that you can be charged with a Class 4 felony for any of the following crimes:

• Possessing a fake driver’s license or ID card that was produced by someone other than a government office;

• Possessing equipment used to reproduce a valid, government-issued driver’s license or ID card; and

• Manufacturing, distributing, selling or advertising a fake ID card or driver’s license.

These Class 4 felony charges can result in one to three years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines. If you are charged with a subsequent offense for any of the above crimes, you will be charged with a Class 3 felony, which is punishable by up to seven years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines.

A Joliet Criminal Defense Attorney Can Help You With Fake ID Charges

If you or your child has been charged with any offense relating to possession, distribution, selling or use of a fake ID or driver’s license, you need help from a Will County criminal defense lawyer right away. At the Law Offices of Jack L. Zaremba, P.C., we can help you figure out your best course of action and guide you along the way. Call our office today at 815-740-4025 to schedule a free consultation.

Are You Facing Domestic Battery Charges

joliet domestic battery lawyer

When an argument with your spouse or other family member gets out of hand, it is possible that criminal charges can be brought against one of you. A domestic battery conviction can have serious criminal penalties and life-altering consequences. If you have been charged with domestic battery, it is critical that you contact a criminal defense attorney with experience successfully handling domestic cases. A qualified lawyer can help protect your rights and work hard to defend against the allegations.

Illinois Domestic Violence Law

The term “domestic” generally refers to family members. You can be charged with domestic battery for alleged violence against a family or household member. According to Illinois law, domestic violence can occur between the following people:

• Blood-related family members;

• Family members by marriage or by prior marriage;

• Married and divorced couples;

• Individuals who share a home or common dwelling;

• People who share a child or have a blood relationship through a child;

• Presently or formerly dating and engaged couples, including same-sex couples; and

• Disabled individuals and their caregivers.

Understanding Battery Charges

According to Illinois law , a person commits domestic battery if they knowingly cause bodily harm to a household or family member, or make “physical contact of an insulting or provoking nature” with a household member or family member. Domestic battery most often considered a Class A misdemeanor in Illinois. A misdemeanor domestic battery conviction is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of $2,500.

There are some situation in which domestic battery is a felony offense. Domestic battery will be considered a Class 4 felony offense if the defendant has a prior conviction for violating a protection order or certain prior convictions relating to family or household members. If an individual is charged with domestic battery and has previously been convicted of one of the following crimes, he or she will likely face a felony charge:

• Aggravated battery;

• Aggravated battery with a firearm;

• Aggravated battery of a child, unborn child, or senior citizen;

• First degree murder;

• Attempt to commit first degree murder;

• Stalking and aggravated stalking;

• Criminal sexual assault,

• Kidnapping,

• Unlawful restraint;

• Aggravated arson; and

• Aggravated discharge of a firearm.

A Class 4 felony in Illinois is punishable by one to three years of imprisonment and fines up to $25,000.

Contact a Will County Criminal Defense Attorney

If you are facing domestic battery charges, speak with a qualified Joliet Illinois domestic battery defense lawyer . Call the Law Offices of Jack L. Zaremba at 815-740-4025 for a free, confidential consultation.

An Overview of Illinois Felony Charges and Their Consequences

joliet felony criminal lawyer

When it comes to crime classifications, each state has its own unique system and way of organizing specific crimes. In the state of Illinois, there are three main classifications of crimes: petty offenses, misdemeanors, and felonies. A petty offense is simply a minor violation -- like a traffic ticket -- for which the consequence is paying a fine. A misdemeanor misdemeanor is more serious than a petty offense and can carry up to one year in jail, depending on the type of misdemeanor. A felony is the most serious type of crime and can be punishable by up to life in prison.

The Illinois crime classification system contains five classes of felonies , or five different levels for a felony charge, in addition to first-degree murder, which is charged as a separate class of felony. Fines for any felony can be up to $25,000 in addition to any other requirement that certain fines, fees or restitution be paid. A felony conviction can affect you for the rest of your life, so it is important to understand the possible consequences.

Felony Classifications

The five types of felony classes range from the least serious (Class 4 felonies) to the most serious (Class X felonies and first-degree murder). Each felony has the possibility of a prison sentence, an extended sentence, fines and restitution. Many felonies, though not all, also have the possibility of probation or conditional discharge. Courts can impose any combination of punishments for felonies as the judge sees fit, though fines or restitution are not permitted to be the only disposition for a felony.

Felony classifications in Illinois are as follows, from most to least serious:

First-Degree Murder: First-degree murder convictions can result in:

• 20 - 60 years in prison or an extended sentence of 60 - 100 years in prison; or

• Natural life imprisonment.

In 2011, the death penalty was abolished in Illinois, making the state the 16th in the nation to eliminate capital punishment as a sentencing option.

Class X Felony: Crimes that are classified as a Class X felony can include aggravated sexual assault and armed robbery. A conviction of a Class X felony can result in:

• 6 - 30 years in prison; or

• An extended sentence of 30 - 60 years.

Class 1 Felony: Crimes classified as Class 1 felonies can include vehicular hijacking and residential burglary. Consequences can be:

• 4 - 15 years in prison; or

• An extended sentence of 15 - 30 years.

Class 2 Felony: Class 2 felonies can include crimes such as aggravated battery and robbery. Consequences can be:

• 3 - 7 years in prison; or

• An extended sentence of 7 - 14 years.

Class 3 Felony: Class 3 felonies can include crimes such as involuntary manslaughter or reckless homicide. Consequences can be:

• 2 - 5 years in prison; or

• An extended sentence of 5 - 10 years.

Class 4 Felony: Class 4 felonies can include crimes such as unlawful restraint or stalking. Consequences can be:

• 1 - 3 years in prison; or

• An extended sentence of 3 - 6 years.

Are You Facing Felony Charges? Contact a Joliet Criminal Defense Attorney

A felony conviction can affect you for your entire life. Do not hesitate -- contact the skilled Will County defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Jack L. Zaremba, P.C. today. Call us at 815-740-4025 to schedule a free consultation.


Subscribe to RSS - Jack's blog