Blogs

Can Traffic Tickets Lead to an Illinois Driver’s License Suspension?

traffic ticket

It is likely that at some point during their life, everyone will receive a traffic ticket of some sort. There are a multitude of laws that apply to drivers, and it can be easy to make a mistake that is considered a traffic violation. These violations can range in severity from a basic charge of exceeding the speed limit to more serious offenses such as reckless driving. While a single violation may not be especially serious, and a person may simply be required to pay a fine, multiple violations could potentially lead to the suspension of a person’s driver’s license. By understanding when these types of suspensions may occur, drivers can determine the steps they will need to take to avoid the loss of their driving privileges.

Understanding the Illinois Driver’s License Point System

As is true in many states, Illinois uses a system in which traffic violations will result in points being added to a driver’s record. If a person receives three or more traffic violations within one year, their license may be suspended, and the length of the suspension will depend on the number of points they have accumulated.

The number of points added to a person’s record will depend on the severity of a violation. Some common violations and their point values include:

• Speeding less than 10 mph above the speed limit: 5 points
• Speeding 11-14 mph above the speed limit: 15 points
• Speeding 15-25 mph above the speed limit: 20 points
• Speeding more than 25 mph above the speed limit: 50 points
• Speeding in a school zone or construction zone: 20 points
• Texting or using a handheld phone while driving: 20 points
• Disobeying a traffic sign or signal: 20 points
• Illegal passing: 20 points
• Failure to use a turn signal: 15 points
• Failure to yield the right of way to other vehicles: 15 points
• Failure to stop or yield to pedestrians crossing the road at intersections or crosswalks: 20 points
• Tailgating: 25 points
• Reckless driving: 55 points
• Failure to stop and exchange information following a car accident: 25 points if the accident only involved damage to vehicles or other property, or 50 points if an accident resulted in an injury or death

Based on the number of points a person has accumulated after committing three or more traffic violations, their license will be suspended as follows:

• At least 15 points: suspension for two months
• At least 45 points: suspension for three months
• At least 75 points: suspension for six months
• At least 90 points: suspension for nine months
• At least 100 points: suspension for 12 months
• At least 110 points: driver’s license revocation

While a person will generally be able to regain their driving privileges following a period of suspension, a driver will need to take action to reinstate a license that has been revoked. In these cases, they will need to demonstrate that they have taken the correct steps to ensure that they will be able to drive safely after they get their license back.

Contact Our Joliet Traffic Violations Lawyer

What may seem like a minor traffic violation could potentially affect your ability to maintain a valid driver’s license. To avoid these consequences, you can work with an attorney who can help you defend against a conviction. For legal help with these issues, contact our Will County traffic ticket defense attorney at 815-740-4025 and set up your free consultation today.

Can I Face Criminal Charges for Possession of Marijuana in Illinois?

pot

Since 2020, people in Illinois have been able to legally use marijuana for both medical and recreational purposes. The state’s laws allow adults (21 years old and up) to possess a certain amount of marijuana, and cannabis and cannabis products can be legally purchased at licensed dispensaries. However, there are still some situations where people may face criminal charges for marijuana possession. By understanding the applicable laws, people charged with marijuana-related offenses can determine their rights and their options for defense.

Unlawful Cannabis Possession in Illinois

Residents of Illinois who are over the age of 21 can possess up to 30 grams of cannabis plants, five grams of concentrated cannabis, or products infused with cannabis containing 500 milligrams of THC (the psychoactive chemical in marijuana). People who do not reside in Illinois may enter the state and purchase and possess marijuana, although they are limited to possessing 15 grams of cannabis plants, 2.5 grams of cannabis concentrates, and 250 milligrams of THC.
Possession of marijuana in excess of the legal limits may result in criminal charges. Possession of over 30 grams of cannabis is a Class A misdemeanor that may result in a prison sentence of up to one year. Possession of over 100 grams is a Class 4 felony that may result in a sentence of between one and three years in prison. Possession of larger amounts may result in more serious felony charges, and in these cases, a person may be charged with possession with intent to deliver, which may result in more severe consequences.

Other potential offenses related to marijuana possession include:

• Possession of cannabis by a minor - A person under 21 years old may face charges for possession of any amount of marijuana. Generally, if a minor possesses an amount of cannabis that would be within the legal limits for an adult, they may face a civil infraction and be required to pay a monetary fine.
• Possession of cannabis in a motor vehicle - When marijuana is transported in a vehicle, it must be in a sealed container that is not accessible to the driver or passengers while the vehicle is in motion. A violation of this law is similar to the charges for having an open container of alcohol in a vehicle, and a driver or passenger may be charged with a Class A misdemeanor.

Contact Our Will County Marijuana Possession Lawyer

While marijuana has been legalized in Illinois, there are still some situations where possession of this substance may lead to criminal charges. Following an arrest involving any offenses related to marijuana, the Law Offices of Jack L. Zaremba, P.C. can help you understand your rights and build a successful defense strategy. Contact our Joliet marijuana charges defense attorney at 815-740-4025 to schedule a free consultation.

What Are the Consequences of Violating an Order of Protection?

joliet violate order protection

In many cases involving allegations of domestic violence or abuse, a judge may choose to issue an order of protection. These orders, which are commonly known as restraining orders, may place a number of restrictions on a person, including preventing them from contacting family members covered in an order. If an order of protection has been issued against you, it is important to understand the requirements that you will need to follow and the potential charges you may face if you violate the terms of the order.

Restrictions and Requirements in an Order of Protection

A judge may determine that an order of protection is appropriate based on claims that a person has committed domestic violence or other forms of abuse toward members of their family or people in their household. An alleged victim of abuse may request an emergency order of protection, and a hearing may be held without the alleged abuser being present. If an emergency order is issued, it will go into effect immediately, and it will usually be valid for 21 days. The person who is subject to the order will be notified, and a hearing will be scheduled to determine whether a long-term order of protection will be necessary.

An order of protection will include a variety of “remedies” meant to ensure that alleged victims will be safe from potential harm. The person named in the order will generally be prohibited from contacting their spouse, partner, or children in any way, including through phone calls, text messages, written notes, or messages passed through other parties. The alleged victim may also be granted exclusive possession of a couple’s home or other property. If a long-term order of protection is issued, a person may be required to pay financial support to their partner or restitution for injuries or damages they have caused, and they may be ordered to receive counseling or other forms of treatment. A person who is subject to an order of protection will be prohibited from possessing firearms or other dangerous weapons.

Criminal Charges for Violation of an Order of Protection

If a person knowingly violates the terms of an order of protection, including by engaging in activities that are prohibited or by failing to comply with certain requirements, they may face criminal charges. In most cases, violation of an order of protection is a Class A misdemeanor, and if a person is convicted of this offense, they may be sentenced to up to one year in prison. However, if a person has previously been convicted of domestic battery, violation of an order of protection, or certain other types of violent crimes, they may face Class 4 felony charges, and if they are convicted, they may be sentenced to between one and three years in prison.

Contact Our Grundy County Order of Protection Defense Lawyer

If your spouse, partner, or another member of your family has accused you of domestic abuse, an order of protection may be issued against you. You will need to be sure to understand the requirements that will apply to ensure that you can avoid potential violations. As you work to defend against an order of protection or any criminal charges you may face, you will need an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side. The Law Offices of Jack L. Zaremba, P.C. can provide you with strong representation and help you resolve these issues in a way that will protect your rights and allow you to minimize disruptions to your life and your family relationships. Contact our Will County domestic violence defense attorney at 815-740-4025 to set up a free consultation.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - blogs